Week One, Done!

Hello! I’ve officially been in Copenhagen for one week, and what a week it has been!

I’m not going to lie, I had a rough start to my time in Copenhagen because the airline lost my luggage. I spent the first three days with two outfits and that’s about it! Thankfully, the airline located my luggage and on Monday I was able to pick it up from DIS. I’m now officially all settled into my kollegium. I still have some decorating to do, but for now I couldn’t feel more at home!

16129389_10208570547041121_1065611060_o

Sunday began with fresh baked goods provided by my wonderful SRA, Anna! Following breakfast, our kollegium split up into groups to explore our neighborhood through a scavenger hunt. After taking every mode of transportation, locating the nearest grocery store, finding take-out restaurants, and visiting the local library, we were pretty familiar with our area of the city.

On Monday, we attended the DIS Opening Ceremony. In addition to a welcome from the executive director and presentations from DIS faculty, we had the opportunity to see a live performance from a new Danish band called Chinah. They were amazing and I highly suggest you check them out here.

Following the opening ceremony, we split into groups of six to “DIScover Copenhagen”. The scavenger hunt took us all over Copenhagen’s city center to visit a few notable areas of the city. My group started off visiting the Danish Parliament, which was quite an impressive building. We then found ourselves at the Queen’s Palace and actually saw her pass by! Our next stop was historic Nyhavn. We had the opportunity to take some photos, learn about the history of the area, and stroll by the colorful houses. We also stopped at Studenterhuset to grab a cup of coffee and a treat to warm up (don’t be fooled by the sun – it was a cold day!) Studenterhuset is a volunteer based coffee shop in Copenhagen and it gives a discount to students studying at KU or DIS! After our activities ended, I met up with my friend Joanna from Smith to grab some churros and walk around Copenhagen. By the end of the day, the city was already beginning to feel like home.

16144705_10208570548921168_683496099_n
Beautiful Nyhavn
16128541_10208570548881167_2134595119_n
The Queen’s Palace
16128688_10208570548961169_1138892693_n
Studenterhuset!
16107817_10208570548841166_2091419740_o
chocolate covered churros!

The rest of the week consisted of book pickup, various academic meetings, renting a bike, more exploration of Copenhagen, and of course the first day of classes! After orientation and the first day, I am so excited for my European Politics course on the European Union. It’s going to be a lot of hard work, but rewarding for sure!

That’s all for now folks! I’m going to grab a cup of coffee and relax after an extremely eventful first week 🙂

Farvel!

Leave a Reply

