A Danish Birthday!

This past Thursday I celebrated my 21st birthday in Copenhagen! The celebration ended up lasting an entire week (aka an excuse to splurge on yummy food and events around the city). Below is a recap of the week!

On Tuesday, my friend Joanna and I went to a Tegan and Sara concert and it was AMAZING. Also, tickets were 35 dollars, so how could we say no?! Before the concert we went out to dinner at Mother, a well known pizza place in Copenhagen. AND MY GOD, A PIZZA MY HEART WAS STOLEN THAT DAY. Probably some of the best pizza I’ve had in my lifetime (sorry Baba Louie’s).

On Wednesday, we had the day off because neither of us had a field study that day. While we originally planned to spend the day doing touristy activities, we ended up sleeping in until noon. We cut our losses and decided to meet up in the city and grab some kanelsnegle (cinnamon rolls) from the famous Skt. Peder’s Bageri. If you have never heard of these cinnamon rolls or have never had one, you have not lived. They were A) the size of my face B) freshly baked C) only 17 kroner (2 USD) and D) the softest, most cinnamon-y pastry EVER. The picture below doesn’t even do these wondrous treats justice, but I think you can get a good idea of how amazing they were. I’ll definitely be back next Wednesday for another round.

16468735_10208706584241966_1590895425_n

Thursday (my actual birthday) was filled with friends and fun! I started my day off by opening letters sent to me by my friends and family back home. It was so heartwarming to hear from everyone! Later on, Joanna and I met up for a birthday brunch at Next Door Cafe, one of our favorite spots around DIS. After I was finished with class for the day, the Danes in my kollegium threw me a little celebration in our shared kitchen. They baked me a home made cake and topped it with a bunch of Danish flags, which is a tradition here in Denmark. They then introduced me to a few really fun Danish drinking games (it was my 21st birthday after all!). After my Danish celebration, a few of my DIS friends and I went downtown to a karaoke bar to continue the celebration. It was a fun night filled with good friends, beer, and plenty of singing!

The celebration did not end on Thursday though! On Saturday a group of us headed out to possibly the BEST brunch spot in Copenhagen called Wulff & Konstali. It was to die for. We had to wait an hour, but it was so worth it. If you don’t believe me, look at the photos below. After our amazing brunch, we journeyed up north to visit the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art. Yes, this is where all those photos of the light room are. In addition to that room, the museum had an amazing art exhibit titled Cells by Louise Bourgeois. Every piece was based off the idea that we are all made up of tiny cells, but also tiny moments. I am no art connoisseur, but I really enjoyed this exhibit. We also explored the outside area of the museum as it is right on the water. It’s definitely an all day trip because there are so many aspects of the museum to explore. 10/10 recommend going if you ever have the opportunity!

Today (Sunday) I met up with some of the girls at the aquarium, which was absolutely adorable. I’m now back in my cozy room, reflecting on what a great week I had. I really am so thankful for the people I have met, Copenhagen, and my family for making all this happen. I cannot wait to discover what the rest of the semester has in store for me. As far as plans for the rest of my Sunday, I’m going to make a snack and meet up with some friends later to watch the Superbowl and cheer on the Patriots! The Student Union is hosting a Superbowl party at midnight, as that is when the Superbowl will be on in Denmark time. It’s going to be a long night!

Farvel!

Amy

Leave a Reply

