Which way? Half way?

Hello friends! Believe it or not, but I am halfway through my semester abroad! Yes, I am freaking out and no I don’t want to talk about it! Anyways, I thought it would be a nice idea to post a few things I love (and don’t love) about Denmark.

What I love:

  1. The food: I’m sure you’ve all seen my posts of the Wednesday cinnamon rolls, but the food here is more than cinnamon rolls. The pastries, porridge, pizza, all brunch foods, coffee, smoothies, flødebolle, waffles, and churros are all to die for. Rose challenged me to find a bad food place in Copenhagen and so far, no luck!
  2. Bikes: Biking is the most popular form of transportation in the city and Copenhagen is the second largest biking city in the world! Now that it’s finally getting nice out, I’ve been riding my bike almost every day and what a difference it makes! I love being able to see the entire city, get some exercise, and lower my carbon footprint.
  3. All Black: While it is a stereotype that Danes wear all black, this one has been true so far! For those of you who know me, my entire wardrobe is black and grey so you can imagine how happy I am to be in Copenhagen.
  4. Children in Snowsuits: It snows probably twice a year in Denmark, yet in the winter you will see children dressed in full on snowsuits. I don’t understand the logic behind this, other than its freaking adorable.
  5. The people: Continuing on the previous point, the Danes are fabulous. Not only are they beautiful and extremely fashionable, they’re honestly some of the nicest, intelligent, and hilarious people you will ever meet (if you’re into sarcasm). From my first day in my kollegium, the Danes have made me feel so welcomed and included (Shoutout to Kitchen 43B!). They’ve helped me with my Danish, taught me some drinking games, helped me celebrate my birthday, and have had some really great conversations.
  6. #AESTHETICS: The Danes have a very minimalist aesthetic when it comes to decor and I have fallen in love. Grey or white walls, a few succulents on the tables, wooden chairs, and simple lighting.
  7. The weather: Yes, in January the sun set at 2:30pm and we only received 39 hours of sunlight the entire month. HOWEVER, the grey really does suit the city and it makes the bright colors of Nyhavn really stick out. Secondly, when the sun does shine, you appreciate it so much more! It’s finally getting sunnier out and yesterday Joanna, Brittany and I spent the day biking and walking around the city and it felt like a completely new city! Nyhavn was packing with Danes and tourists, everyone was riding their bikes, and eating gelato (45 degrees here basically means gelato weather). The city was filled with energy and happiness — it was impossible to be in a bad mood!
  8. Layout: One of my favorite things about Copenhagen is how each section of the city is so different. One minute you’ll be walking through the old town with narrow streets, cobblestone, brick buildings, and the next minute you’re walking down Nyhavn surrounded by water, boats, and colorful buildings. Then you’ll turn another corner and be walking through the most beautiful park you’ve ever seen!

Things I do not like:

  1. COST: Denmark, I love you, but you’re seriously breaking my bank account. Also my 7 times tables are rough, so having to do the math when 7 Danish Krone equals 1 USD is getting old.

Cost of living aside, I honestly love this city with all my heart. I am happy just walking around the city, people watching, and taking in the beauty of the area. If you have not made it to Copenhagen yet, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Go to Paper Islands and try the mojitos, stroll down Nyhavn or take a canal tour, go to the top of the round tower, grab a Wednesday cinnamon roll at St. Peder’s, grab brunch at Wulff & Konstali, and rent a bike!

There are so many things to look forward to in the second half of my semester here and I CANNOT WAIT. I am so excited for the warmer weather to come because that means Tivoli will open and we can rent boats for an hour or so and sail around Nyhavn with some wine and a picnic! For now, I’ve got midterms coming up this week so its time to hit the books while taking breaks to daydream about the next half of the semester 🙂

Farvel!

Leave a Reply

