Sorrento, Capri, Positano, Oh My!

on

Hello, hello! I just got back from a long 10 days of travel throughout Europe! I am EXHAUSTED, but exhilarated all at the same time. I walked an average of 13 miles a day, had amazing wine, tasted fabulous new foods, and met some great people. I traveled to three different areas, so I thought I’d split the blog posts into three portions.

Trip One: Amalfi Coast

My trip began with Taylor and I traveling from Copenhagen to Naples with a layover in Berlin. Doesn’t sound too bad, but have I mention we had a 9 hour, overnight layover? Fun fact: Berlin was rated one of the worst airports to sleep in, so we’re clearly making great decisions while abroad. We luckily found two benches (no padding) that had enough room for us to lie down and slept on and off again for 1 hour increments. The hours passed by and soon enough we were on our flight to Naples!

Saturday consisted of us checking into our adorable Airbnb with our own private balcony (shoutout to our homeboy David in the tracksuit for the hook up). After freshening up, Taylor and I went out to explore Sorrento. Our first stop was obviously gelato and, no surprise, it was incredible. We then found really good 4 euro pizza and walked around the beaches, admiring the beauty of the area. I can’t explain how absolutely breathtaking the area was, the pictures don’t even do it justice. As we were leaving, we walked passed an artists named David who was selling his paintings of Italy. After talking to him for awhile, it turns out that he rides his bike around Italy, painting the various landscapes he sees. The paintings were only 5 euro and they are BEAUTIFUL.

Sunday was our day in Capri!! One windy ferry ride later, we arrived on the island and were crammed into the tiniest bus imaginable to get to the downtown area of Capri. As soon as we stepped off the bus, we were greeted with the most stunning view of the island. It felt like we were in a fairytale. One of the best perks of our trip was that we went during the off season, which meant the island wasn’t super crowded. I really appreciated this aspect because I was able to appreciate the beauty of the island without feeling overwhelmed. After grabbing our daily dose of gelato and a few clothing purchases later, we went to Augustus’ garden. Once again, we were greeted with one of the most beautiful sights in the world. The water was so blue and made the island even prettier.

After this, we were pretty hungry so we went to find a place for lunch. And now, it’s time for the dumb American Amy moment of the trip. Everywhere we went, limoncello was advertised because Capri is known for their lemons. So, at lunch, I figured it would be the perfect time to try the famous limoncello. Now, I thought this would be something similar to a spiked lemonade or sangria… nope. Nothing like that at all. When the waiter brought out the glass of limoncello, I took a big swig, only to realize it was a STRONG HARD LIQOUR. I’m talking stronger than Everclear (no I’m not being dramatic).  There was a couple next to us who got a huge kick out of my reaction to the drink. Needless to say, I was a little tipsy after only a few sips. So, if you take away anything from this post it’s this: Don’t order the limoncello.

17555353_10209116829377838_779148229_n
Trying to play it cool after tasting limoncello

After an embarrassing lunch, we made our way to Anacapri to check out the other side of the island. We walked around, did some shopping, and admired more of the island views. It was then time to catch the ferry back to Sorrento, so we walked down 1,500 stairs from Anacapri to the harbor. A beautiful, but strenuous hike down. After dinner in Sorrento, we still had to finish up our souvenir shopping and met the BEST shop owner. He was so sweet, laughed at my limoncello experience, and let us try melloncello which was MUCH more mild than limoncello. If only I knew that at lunch!

Monday was our last full day on the Amalfi Coast and we decided to take a bus to Positano. Our morning had a rough start as Taylor and I struggled to find an ATM or bank that would exchange US Dollars for Euros without a ridiculous fee. Google Maps failed us. It was tragic. We FINALLY found a bank, 10 minutes before our bus left but we made it! One gorgeous, but windy bus ride later, we arrived in Positano. After hiking down another 1,000 steps or so we arrived on the beach of the town. We then shopped around, as I was on a mission to purchase a pair of sandals. The Amalfi Coast is famous for their hand – made sandals, and I was determined to get a pair. I finally found a reasonably priced shoemaker. He measured my feet, allowed me to pick out the colors of the sandals, and made them right in front of me! After my big purchase, Taylor and I got pizza and wine and sat on the pier, looking over the beach. I may have gotten sunburnt, but it was SO worth it. Sadly, we had a bus picking us up and had to leave the town shortly after that. After climbing up 1,000 steps I needed a refreshment and bought an orange from a little fruit stand and it was the BEST orange I have ever had. Taylor laughed at my enthusiasm about this orange, but it was so juicy and flavorful, I wanted to CRY. A great end to an even better trip.

I cannot express how much I loved this area of Italy. It felt like I was in a fairytale the entire time. I was so content just eating my gelato, admiring the natural beauty of the coast. There were moments where I almost cried at the beauty and because I felt so fortunate to be able to visit the area. The coast was also a much needed break from the hectic city and dark weather of Copenhagen. The sunburn, the sore muscles, and the lack of sleep was so worth it.

Some tips if you plan on going (which you should):

  1. Don’t order limoncello (yes, this needed to be said twice).
  2. Base out of Sorrento and make day trips to the other areas
  3. Be prepared for men to cat call you nonstop.
  4. Take the ferry whenever possible, it is so beautiful.
  5. Go during the low season! Granted, a lot of shops and restaurants aren’t open, but it is so much less hectic, enjoyable, and you get to experience what the area is really like without tourists.
  6. For a pair of inexpensive, hand made sandals go to Artigian Torallo in Positano.
  7. Bring sneakers to walk/hike in, you’ll need them!!

Until part 2… Farvel!

 

Leave a Reply

