I’ve Moved – To Wellington!

on

Hello all! As many of you know, I have been working in Auckland these past three weeks, but not anymore! I was moved to Wellington to work on Ginny Andersen’s campaign. She’s a new candidate in her district, so there’s a lot of work to do!

Wednesday night I moved into my new billet. I’m living with an elderly woman named Ruth, along with another fellow. Ruth is an absolute delight. She treats us as if we were her grandchildren – stuffing our faces with yummy dinners and desserts, telling us stories from when she was younger, and giving us a few history lessons on New Zealand. My room is also wonderful, as I have my own little nook overlooking the entire city.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

Thursday we had orientation with Ginny and her team. It went so well and got me even more amped to work for her. She is the most personable, caring, and hilarious woman I have ever met. She is honest, relatable, and it is very clear that she is passionate about brining positive change to New Zealand. Ginny is going to be an easy candidate to campaign for, no doubt!

To make Ginny even more amazing, she got the fellows on her campaign tickets to see Helen Clark give a lecture on human development! She gave an impressive lecture about job development in both developed and developing countries and the importance of why we must focus on job growth. After her lecture, we had the opportunity to meet her and snag a photo! While professional while giving her speech, she was extremely relaxed and casual once you met her in person. Clark is undoubtably an impressive woman and someone I will always admire.

IMG_5640

Friday, Saturday and Sunday were spent out with Ginny and her team canvassing across Lower Hutt. While it was cold and rainy, I honestly had such a good time meeting and speaking with the voters, hearing their concerns, and talking up Ginny. After our first day of canvassing, Ginny took us all out to dinner and we all had a blast!

IMG_5662

Apart from campaigning and attending lectures, I’ve been doing some exploring in Wellington and I absolutely love it! Wellington has more of a city feel to it than Auckland, as everything is more compact. So far I took the cablecar up to the top of a mountain, walked around the botanic gardens, and had the most wonderful view of the city! Saturday night, all the fellows in Wellington met up at a pub to watch the All Blacks vs. Lions rugby game. To everyone’s disbelief, the Lions won! It was quite and exciting game and it was so much fun to experience a rugby match in New Zealand. The fans were amazing and SO entertaining.

That’s all for now! Stay tuned for more adventures.

 

 

Leave a Reply

